Userpic

stopmoRoos
Traveller
3 comments

Posted 11 years ago

Hello,
I'm just considering to use an interrail global ticket of 10 travel days within 22 days for a trip from Bristol (UK) to Budapest and back, in any interesting route. I'm going to a workshop week in Budapest 29 july - 5 august, and with this last minute decision other travel options don't seem much cheaper, and/or complicated and less fun, so I decided (or, almost decided) it could be a good occasion to take a bit more time for the journey and see some more on my way.
Now I only found that it is not possible to travel within your country of residence. I am studying and living in the UK at the moment, but I am originally from the Netherlands, and my ID is Dutch. Would it be possible to fill in the Netherlands as my country of residence, but get the ticket shipped to my address in the UK? And in this way still be able to just start my interrail journey in the UK? I'm getting a bit confused when filling in forms...
Also, I'm not entirely sure now if any tunnel and/or ferry from UK to mainland would be included in the interrail ticket or if this would add a lot of extra costs?
late decisions and confusions, sorry for all the questions and thanks for the help already.
Roos

Follow this topic
Userpic

Peter
Traveller
9330 comments

replied 11 years ago

Hi Roos.
The country in which you lived the past six months is your country of residence.
If you ID-card or passport don't show that you lived in the UK for the past six months, it is no problem to buy a Netherlands Interrail Pass - so that you can travel for free in the UK. :)
Order the following way: select in the shop in the top right corner as country the UK
Then select the ticket you want and put it in the shopping basket. When you check-out, you have to fill in your personal data. There you select the Netherlands as your country. Read here as well:
[ux]https://rail.shop/interrail[/ux]

Interrail Pass: [ux]https://rail.shop/interrail[/ux]