Userpic

jamiecropley
Traveller
1 comments

Posted 4 months ago

Trying to find a cheap way out of UK by rail to Europe... Specifically Berlin. Been a while since I last did international rail travel, but its my preferred alternative next to planes. What kind of sites and apps are good for achieving this? I was looking at paying around £100 maximum or cheaper. I am a part time student as well so not sure if inter rail passes and the likes can help? I used to use Sta Travel in the UK in the past for these kinds of questions and offbeat like journeys but now I am at a loss.

Follow this topic
Userpic

nltrainer
Traveller
1397 comments

replied 4 months ago

There is not. €* has raised its prices-or in fact does not really offer any of the former really cheap fares.
Also you omit a lot of points that may give you a far better answer:
1.from around where in UK-Just LON or further? 2.TIME-date. The peak of the main tourist season-or even that football madness now going on- or it does not matter-the total price is more imptt. 3.age/status. 4.single or return-and if out+back (H+R it is here in DE): how long in between. 5.willing to brave it-time taken for the whole exp can lengthen a lot to get lower price. 6.Also wanting to do more trips on transit whilst here in Deutschland?
As a broad rule, the BUS (coach for Brits)_like FLIX usually comes out as cheapest, but off-season and if booked well in advance a flite-from an obscure outer small airpt and on an obscure unknown low-budget airline-or perhaps even that very well know Irish price-beater-but only if you can limit your luggages taken.
OTOH most people who ask about low prices-and even more those from that island in the NorthSea-often hardly really care in the end about it-Germans do far more. Is that 100gbp for single or return?
Check seat61 for routing+booking-the normal way-and bahn.de-cut it up in segments- for timings+prices-up to max 3-4 month advance.