Userpic

AV-Dave
Traveller
7 comments

Posted 10 months ago

Hello there. I am a UK citizen, however I have been a permanent resident in India for the last 20 years. Can I use an interrail pass in the UK like a non-UK European? Thank you!

Follow this topic
Userpic

MisterSteve
Traveller
910 comments

replied 10 months ago

The simple answer is no because Interrail is only for european residents. You need a Eurail Pass if you are making a wider European tour or a Britrail Pass if only Britain. You will need proof of Indian residency to use these passes such as official residency certificates, Indian bank card for payment, Indian driving licence etc. Something from the UK Consulate confirming you live in India would be excellent.

And if you are not touring and only need a few journeys in Britain check how much properly planned tickets would cost before buying a pass. And don't overlook that you CAN buy a Railcard to get big discounts if you are in the right age group or travelling with someone else as a pair (on all journeys). Or with family/ friends (who could live in Britain) as long as one child is present on all journeys (doesn't have to be the same one!!).
https://www.britrail.com/
https://www.railcard.co.uk/

Userpic

AV-Dave
Traveller
7 comments

replied 10 months ago

Thank you for the very quick response MisterSteve. In that case, I guess that my best bet is to just use my UK passport to get an Interrail pass (I have a permanent address in the UK). I understand that I will be eligible for one inbound journey from continental Europe and then after that I will travel in the UK like anyone else.

Userpic

MisterSteve
Traveller
910 comments

replied 10 months ago