Userpic

stewart_life
Traveller
5 comments

Posted 13 years ago

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in European train. I'm looking at the schedule and price of train service from trenitalia.com to compare the point-to-point ticket. This is for trip from Nice to Cinque Terre region (preferably Riomaggiore). I have some questions about it:

1. Why all the prices are listed as NA? Does it mean that I can't buy the ticket from this website if one of the journey leg is in different country (in this case France)?
2. If I change the origin to Ventimiglia, I can see the schedule. And there is a direct regional train (train category is marked as R), but the price is also listed as NA. Anyone knows why? Does it mean that regional train can't be booked online?
3. Using the Ventimiglia-Riomaggiore route, there is also a possibility of changing train in Genoa using a combination of intercity (train category is marked as IC) and regional train (train category is marked as R). With this option, the price is listed. Does the price includes both IC and R train? Or I have to buy separate R ticket when changing train in Genoa station?

Appreciate your advice on this. Thanks a lot!

Follow this topic
Userpic

Peter
Traveller
9331 comments

replied 13 years ago

Hi.

The best is to ask Trenitalia directly... just joking... :D

1) NA = not available ... you have to buy separate tickets for France and Italy.
SNCF (French national railway company): from Nice (France) to Ventimiglia (border station) - it is usually local rail traffic and not very expensive.
www.ter-sncf.com/Regions/paca/Fr/Se_deplacer_en_TER/Avant_mon_voyage/Recherche_d_itineraires/Default.aspx
Then via Trenitalia from Ventimiglia to your final destination.

2) You can buy the ticket for the regional train either at a station (Italy, France) or directly at a ticket machine in a French railway station. It is easy and fast to do.