Userpic

Dalin7
Traveller
1 comments

Posted 1 year ago

Hi! I have never travelled with train before, so I am new at this. Got an spontanious idea to maybe leave from Sweden in May and be gone for a month. The places I so far think I'd like to visit is Czech Republic, Italy, Spain, France and maybe Greece. I will be travelling alone so therefore I have no clue how to think or plan.
1. How many traveldays do i need, is it better for me to cut it down to 7 traveldays for a month or pay the double price and travel whenever I want for a month?
I like the idea to be able to catch the next train at any day, but I don't know if it's too short time to travel to unnecessary many countries, that when you're out there you'd wanna stay longer to actually enjoy the trip and not constantly be on a train.
2. Also, is it safe to do a trip like this as an alone 22-year old girl?
3. What other things do I need to think about or can't miss?
4. How big does my budget need to be?

Thankful for any answers!

Follow this topic
Userpic

MisterSteve
Traveller
901 comments

replied 1 year ago

There are two problem areas in your list.

Greece can't be reached by train as all international routes have been suspended for some time, and one has problems on the other side of the border as well. With Interrail it can be reached by ferry from Italy but obviously that is slower and eats into your time - amd not all the Greek ports have a rail connection.

Spain is a nightmare. Almost all fast trains require advance reservation and that is almost impossible outside of Spain. For Barcelona, Bilbao, Santander you wouldn't need any fast trains as they are easy to reach from the French border by local trains (but Barcelona to Bilbao is not!)

Without experience I would take those countries of the list. Of the others, France can be difficult for compulsory reservations but it is possible, Italy has compulsory reservations but they are much easier to get.