Userpic

charmsc
Traveller
2 comments

Posted 15 years ago

Hey all!

I'm planning to head out to Eastern Europe for 3 months (Feb-April 09) but it's my first time in Europe and I've never used the interrail before. I've been on exchange in Denmark for the last 6 months so I should be eligible for the interrail pass, right?

My route is gonna be something like this: Poland - Czech Republic - Slovakia - Hungary - Romania - Bulgaria - Macedonia - (day trip to Kosovo?) - Albania - Montenegro - Serbia - Bosnia & Herzegovina - Croatia - Slovenia.

1.) I'm thinking of spending about a week or so in each country. Is this too ambitious?

2.) I've heard that I could be denied entry into Serbia if they see that I went to Kosovo. Has anyone had problems with this?

3.) I know that not all of these countries have great rail networks. Which countries should I get an interrail pass for? And should I do the global or one country pass?

4.) Like I said, first time in Europe and I'm from a warm, tropical country. Any suggestions in terms of equipment or climate or whatever? Someone told me that I'd be all right with a fleece and ski jacket and maybe to bring rain boots since spring means rain in most countries...

Even if you can't answer any of my questions, I'd love to get suggestions about places to go and things to do if you've been to any of these countries! I'd appreciate any help and advice I can get!!

Thanks in advance!!
charms

Follow this topic
Userpic

Peter
Traveller
9331 comments

replied 15 years ago

hej Charms ... :)

if you have a visa or residency permit for Denmark printed in your passport - and stayed 6 months there, it is no problem to buy a Danish InterRail Ticket. :)

to you questions ...

1) my personal experience says... if you want to know a place better than only the tourist highlights, stay at least 3 days... so one week per country is not too long !!