Userpic

anonymous
Traveller
2467 comments

Posted 8 years ago

Hi all,

I'm new to the rail.cc community. I graduate this year and I have but one thing to tick off my bucket list and that is to travel with a loved one my sister. Sounds a bit cheesy but true. I have 20 days, before graduating and the beginning of work and hoping to buy the 10 in 22 day ticket.

We're not the most organised people, and want to get the ball rolling. We've figured out we'd like to visit: Budapest, Ljubljana, split and Zagreb, Thessaloniki/Athens, Bulgaria and hoping to finish in Croatia for a couple of days 4/5? And maybe fit in Istanbul?

I would really appreciate some advice regarding routes (we will be travelling from Sheffield, England). We don't mind travelling during the night. Are we being a little too ambitious with the number of destinations? And is there anywhere anyone would really really recommend visiting? Also in terms of accomodation reading other posts I'm assuming it's okey to turn up and finding somewhere to sleep isn't hard?

Sorry to bombard with all these questions. Really appreciate any advice you could offer. Also if you're travelling around this summer too and wouldn't mind a friendly face to share some experiences with please comment. Thankyou again x

Follow this topic
Userpic

ardeeay
Traveller
99 comments

replied 8 years ago

Hi

I think your idea for a 10 in 22 day ticket is quite workable. In 2013 I used a 10 days in a month Balkan FlexiPass, valid in Bulgaria, Bosnia, Greece, Macedonia, Serbia, Montenegro, Romania and Turkey to visit most of the cities on your list.