Userpic

Weismayr42
Traveller
7 comments

Posted 10 years ago

Hello all,

I hope I'm posting this in the correct place...
I'm totally new to interrail travelling - long story short, I've decided to brave it alone and explore Europe in the early Summer time (I'm thinking end of May/beginning of June time)
I will be going for the 30 days, and have what I think is a fairly reasonable budget for the duration. I'm looking for advice from experienced travellers who can tell me whether my plan is completely unrealistic. If it happens to somehow be feasible then I'd welcome all the additional advice I can get.
So my places of destination...

Definite locations in no particular order:
Athens, Rome, Sicily, Dubrovnik, Mostar, Barcelona, Amsterdam, Prague, as well as France and Germany (I haven't decided where in these places yet). If realistic, I'd also love to include Copenhagen, Malmo, Helsinki and possibly a little bit more of Scandinavia.

So my initial question is - would the above destinations be realistic over the course of 30 days? If so, is there a sensible starting point and subsequent route?

Once I have a good idea of a route I will look into more of the specifics, such as the types of accommodation and issues surrounding trains/reservations. As I say, any help/advice/information would be hugely welcome and greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Dan

Follow this topic
Userpic

Weismayr42
Traveller
7 comments

replied 10 years ago

Hello again!

So after a bit of thought and chatting with colleagues, I've decided to refine my planned trip.

My plan now is to go for 3 weeks, with 4 definite destinations in mind.

This would be:

Rome - Dubrovnik - Mostar - Athens

So I'm thinking flight to Rome from London Gatwick, and returning from Athens 3 weeks later, exploring Italy, Croatia and Bosnia in between (and possibly other places in Macedonia and Montenegro)

Does this sound feasible? (I know there might need to be at least one or two ferry trips within this)